In 1969, the Research Society for Occupational Physiology and Safety e.V. (Registered Association ‘Forschungsgesellschaft für Arbeitsphysiologie und Arbeitsschutz e.V., Dortmund’ ) was set up to promote ‘research in the field of theoretical and applied occupational physiology for the protection and well-being of working people’.

Thus, the state of North Rhine-Westphalia (Länder Government), Max Planck Society, German Trade Union Confederation (DGB), Confederation of German Employers’ Associations (BDA), University of Dortmund, Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Dortmund (IHK), City of Dortmund and the United Services Trade Union (ver.di, federal administration) founded the sponsoring association of IfADo.

Currently, the General Meeting comprises representatives of 12 stakeholders.

Members of Registered Association


Honorary Members

Klaus Günzel
Dr. Friedrich Jürgen Kador (deceased 2010)
Prof. em. Dr.-Ing. Walter Heinrich Rohmert (deceased 2009
Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Schultetus
Ekkehard Schwabe
Prof. em. Dr. Erich te Kaat
Prof. em. Dr. Paul Velsinger