Ethics commission

The appointed ombudsman at IfADo is Dr. Christoph van Thriel . His mandate is to advise and assist scientists and scholars in questions of good scientific practice and its impairment through scientific dishonesty.

Furthermore, the ethical aspects of research are supervised by an ethics commission, which was appointed by the board of the research association. The ethics commission observes the rules and ethical principles for medical research involving human subjects based on the revised World Medical Association’s Declaration of Helsinki. The commission and its members act autonomously and are not bound by any directive. The commission supports scientists by offering advice and by evaluating ethical and legal aspects of their experimental designs concerning humans.


  • Albert W. Rettenmeier, Univ.-Prof. Dr. med. (head of ethics commission)
    Institute of Medical Informatics, Biometry und Epidemiology, Essen University Hospital
  • Hans-Martin Prager, Dr. med. Dipl. Chem.
    Institute of Occupational, Social and Environmental Medicine Castrop-Rauxel
  • Gerlinde Schlicker, Dr. jur.
    Head of administration, TU Dortmund, Dezernat 1
  • Michael C. Truß, Prof. Dr. med.
    Chairman of Department of Urology at Klinikum Dortmund
  • Michael Falkenstein, Prof. em. Dr. med.
    Former head of project group „Ageing“
  • Barbara Griefahn, Univ.-Prof. em. Dr. med.
    Former head of project group „Chronobiology“

Documents for good scientific practice

  1. GUIDELINES Good Scientific Practice (Leibniz Association)
  2. Rules of Good Scientific Practice (DFG)